Appendix 1 - Comparator Authorities

CIFPA Comparator Councils

Council	Council	Cabinet	Audit	Planning	Licensing (excluding sub committees)	Scrutiny	H&W Board	Others	Total
Bath and North East Somerset Council	6	8	5	13	4	38	5	20	99
Bedford Borough Council	8	10	4	13	6	35	n/a	41	117
Central Bedfordshire Council	7	12	5	15	6	44	8	6	103
Cheshire East Council	6	13	5	40	6	35	5	99	209
Cheshire West and Chester Council	6	13	5	25	6	41	6	88	190
East Riding of Yorkshire Council	9	16	4	32	9	41	6	15	143
Herefordshire Council	6	14	10	17	6	23	4	0	80
North Somerset Council	8	5	3	36	As required	21	n/a	5	78
Shropshire Council	8	12	6	39	10	28	8	0	111
Solihull Borough Council	7	15	6	21	5	35	6	20	115
Stockport Borough Council	8	9	4	9	9	47	5	0	91
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council	8	10	5	13	As required	11	6	20	71
Warrington Borough Council	7	12	7	29	5	5	4	28	97
Wiltshire Council	4	10	5	66	4	24	4	8	125
City of York Council	6	11	6	24	6	34	5	5	97

Local Neighbouring Councils

Council	Council	Cabinet	Audit	Planning	Licensing (excluding sub committees)	Scrutiny	H&W Board	Others	Total
Halton Borough Council	8	19	5	11	5	30	6	23	107
Knowsley Borough Council	7	13	4	10	4	8	5	25	76
Liverpool City Council	6	24	5	24	7	70	4	29	176
Manchester City Council	7	11	6	12	6	52	5	34	133
Stoke on Trent City Council	8	13	9	29	8	39	4	36	146
Tameside Borough Council	5	6	4	11	11	18	n/a	18	73
Wirral Borough Council	8	9	5	12	5	22	n/a	17	78

2009 Unitary Authorites

Council	Council	Cabinet	Audit	Planning	Licensing (excluding sub committees)	Scrutiny	H&W Board	Others	Total
Cornwall Council	8	6	4	48	19	8	5	55	153
Durham County Council	9	10	6	40	28	47	3	15	158

Note: The number of meetings for each authority was collected from publicly available information on their websites.

APSE Network responses to survey on the Frequency of full Council meetings in January 2013

Council	Number of full council meetings per yer					
Bedfordshire Borough Council	8					
Newport City Council	6					
Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council	8					
Midlothian Council	7					
Carmarthenshire County Council	12					
Angus Council	7					
Stockton on Tees Borough Council	10					
Belfast City Council	11					
West Dunbartonshire Council	4					
Thanet District Council	6					
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council	8					
Flintshire County Council	10					
Nottingham City Council	10					
Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council	7					
Preston City Council	8					
Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council	6					
Ashfield District Council	7					
Blackpool Council	7					
Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council	7					
Conwy County Borough Council	4					
West Dunbartonshire Council	5					
Thurnock Council	10					